NASCC 2017

Night School


T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award Nominations due August 1

June 29, 2011 from American Institute of Steel Construction

(Chicago, IL) - Each year the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper or papers, published during the eligibility period, are considered an outstanding contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. This prestigious award is named for Theodore R. Higgins, Ph.D., former AISC Director of Engineering and Research, who was widely acclaimed for his many contributions to the advancement of engineering technology related to fabricated structural steel.

Recent winners include Charles W. Roeder, Ph.D., P.E., professor of civil engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle, for his paper on Gusset Plate Connections for Seismic Design, which was published in the Proceedings of the Sixth International Workshop on Connections in Steel Structures; James O. Malley, senior principal with Degenkolb Engineers of San Francisco for his paper titled “The 2005 AISC Seismic Provisions for Structural Steel Buildings,” published in the First Quarter 2007 AISC Engineering Journal; Donald W. White, a professor at the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, for his paper on Stability Analysis and Design.

AISC encourages anyone involved with steel construction to submit nominations by August 1. Nominations should include the following information:

  • Name and affiliation of person nominated for Lectureship.
  • Title of paper or papers to be named in nomination with publication citation.
  • In case of multiple authors, identify the principal author.
  • Reasons for nomination.
  • A copy of the paper as well as any published discussion, must accompany the nomination. The author must be a permanent resident of the U.S. and available to fulfill the commitments of the award. The paper or papers must have been published in a professional journal within the five-year period from January 1, 2006 to January 1, 2011. The 2012 award winner will give a minimum of six presentations of the lecture on selected occasions during the year.

The award will be made to a nominated individual on the basis of two criteria: (1) his/her reputation as a lecturer and (2) the jury's evaluation of the paper or papers named in the nomination. The papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance, and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.

A framed certificate will be presented to the lecturer at the 2012 NASCC: The Steel Conference, April 18-21 in Dallas. Co-authors of the paper or papers named in the successful nomination will also be recognized at the award presentation. In addition, the winner will receive a $10,000 cash award.

Send your nominations for the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award to:

T.R. Higgins Award Nomination
c/o Janet T. Cummins
Engineering & Research Coordinator
American Institute of Steel Construction
130 East Randolph Drive, Suite 2000
Chicago, IL 60601

More information on the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award and its past winners can be found at www.aisc.org/TRHigginsAward.


For more information contact:

Tasha Weiss
Communications Department
(312) 670-5439
[email protected]