T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award


Each year, AISC's T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper or papers, published during the eligibility period, are considered an outstanding contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel.

The award is named for Theodore R. Higgins, former AISC Director of Engineering and Research, who was widely acclaimed for his many contributions to the advancement of engineering technology related to fabricated structural steel. The award honors Theodore for his innovative engineering, timely technical papers and distinguished lectures. Read more about T.R. Higgins here.

Winners will receive a framed certificate, which is presented at the annual AISC North American Steel Construction Conference (NASCC). Learn more about the NASCC here. Winners receive a $15,000 cash award and will present their lecture, upon request, at professional association events.

Scheduling a Lecture

If your organization is interested in hosting a T.R. Higgins lecture, contact Nancy Gavlin, S.E., Director of Education, at [email protected]. AISC reimburses the speaker's travel expenses for qualifying events.

Current Lecturer (2016-2017)

The current T.R. Higgins Lecturer is Maria Garlock who received the 2016 T.R. Higgins Award at the NASCC in Orlando, FL in April 2016. Professor Garlock's lecture is titled "Get Fired Up: What Structural Engineers Should Know About Fire Design".

Next Lecturer (2017-2018)

The next T.R. Higgins Lecturer is Todd Helwig who will receive the 2017 T.R. Higgins Award at the NASCC in San Antonio, TX in March 2017.

Future Awards

Nominations are now closed for the 2017-2018 T.R. Higgins award.

Small Lock Icon You must be logged in as a member to view content with this symbol. Not a member? Learn more about AISC membership here. If you don't qualify for AISC membership, you can purchase an ePubs subscription here.