Prize Bridge

Congratulations to our 2016 Prize Bridge Award winners!


Award Categories
In the past, awards have been presented in a variety of categories including those listed below:

    • Major span - one or more spans greater than or equal to 400 ft.
    • Long span - Longest span equal to or greater than 250 ft. but less than 400 ft.
    • Medium span - Longest span equal to or greater than 140 ft. but less than 250 ft.
    • Short span - No single span greater than 140 ft.
    • Movable span
    • Reconstructed - Having undergone major reconstruction, rehabilitation, or widening
    • Special purpose - Bridge not identifiable in one of the above categories including pedestrian, pipeline, and airplane

In addition to the above categories; NSBA will also offer special commendation to projects that best exemplify Accelerated Bridge Construction, and a full range of Sustainable attributes. 

    • Accelerated bridge construction
    • Sustainability

All award-winning bridges are built of fabricated structural steel and are located in the United States (defined as the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and all U.S. territories.) Eligible bridges must have been completed and opened to traffic between May 1, 2013 and September 30, 2015.

Judging Criteria
An independent panel will judge entries on the following criteria: innovation, aesthetics, design and engineering solutions. Quality of submitted presentations, through not a criterion, is important.  Entries may be judged in more than one category, but an entry can only receive one award.

The competition began in 1928 with first place awarded for the Sixth Street Bridge in Pittsburgh.  Since then, more than 300 bridges have won first place in a variety of categories. In the past, the Prize Bridge Competition has taken place every other year with the winners being announced at NSBA's World Steel Bridge Symposium.

Student Bridge Competition