NASCC 2017

Night School


Winners Announced in Student Design Competition [INACTIVE] 

May 27, 2002 From AISC, Inc.

The American Institute of Steel Construction, Inc. (AISC) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2001-02 ACSA/AISC Student Design Competition. This annual competition, sponsored by AISC and Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), challenged architectural students to design a new School of Architecture building sited, for the purposes of this competition, on the campus of Oglethorpe University in Atlanta, GA. Students were encouraged to be creative in their use of steel, paying particular attention to its properties and benefits as a structural material.

This year’s competition, open to students at architectural schools in North America, received an overwhelming response with 459 projects submitted. Of these submissions, 67 projects were selected for the second round, from which first, second, and third prizes were awarded, in addition to nine honorable mentions. Award winners in all categories can be found below.

Prize winning selections and honorable mentions will be exhibited at the 2003 North American Steel Construction Conference in Baltimore, MD, the 2003 ACSA Annual Meeting in Louisville, KY and the 2003 AIA Expo in San Diego, CA. They will also be published in a competition summary catalog and distributed to all schools of architecture. Winning students, their faculty sponsors, and schools will receive cash prizes totaling $9,000.

ACSA is a non-profit organization founded in 1912 to enhance the quality of architectural education. ACSA now represents over 4,500 faculty members in 123 member schools in the United States and Canada. As well as over 120 affiliate member schools worldwide.

For more information on AISC’s extensive university education program, please visit http://www.aisc.org

2001-02 ACSA/AISC Student Design Competition Award Winners

First Prize
New School of Architecture
Carmen McKee
Philadelphia University
Faculty Sponsor: Scott Erdy

Second Prize
f/n: fields/networks
Timothy C. Hawkins
University of Illinois – Chicago
Faculty Sponsor: Ammar Eloueini

Third Prize
Fluidic Topography
Scott Melancon
Louisiana State University
Faculty Sponsor: Ursula Emery McClure

Honorable Mentions

Shifting Paradigms
Andrew Batay-Csorba and Jodi Stockwell
Lawrence Technological University
Faculty Sponsor: Rochelle Martin

Oglethorpe Graduate School of Architecture
Timothy Shawn Brown and Jean-Philippe de Visscher
Oklahoma State University
Faculty Sponsor: Robert Wright

World Traveling Studio
Kirk M. Bruni
The University of Texas – San Antonio
Faculty Sponsor: Mahesh Senagala

Ann Dutton
University of Maryland
Faculty Sponsor: Amy E. Gardner and Mark McInturff

Mark Hash
Louisiana State Univeristy
Faculty Sponsor: Ursula Emery McClure

Education In.Tension
Iris Hoffmann
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Faculty Sponsor: Heinrich Schnoedt

Raul Pinto
University of Colorado
Faculty Sponsor: Michael Jenson

Michael Scherer
Auburn University
Faculty Sponsor: Eric Anderson

A Stroll in the Park
Tony Tsui
University of California – Berkeley
Faculty Sponsor: William DiNapoli

For more information contact:

Scott Melnick
VP of Communications
(312) 670-8314
[email protected]

American Institute of Steel Construction
The American Institute of Steel Construction, headquartered in Chicago, is a not-for-profit technical institute and trade association established in 1921 to serve the structural steel design community and construction industry. AISC’s mission is to make structural steel the material of choice by being the leader in structural steel-related technical and market-building activities, including: specification and code development, research, education, technical assistance, quality certification, standardization, and market development. AISC has a long tradition of service to the steel construction industry of providing timely and reliable information. 

130 East Randolph St. Suite 2000
Chicago IL 60601
Phone: 312.670.2400
Fax: 312.626.2402