NASCC 2017

Night School


John Kulicki Wins AISC J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award

November 22, 2011 from American Institute of Steel Construction

/uploadedImages/News/Kulicki, John-0408-25_300.jpg(Chicago, IL) - John M. Kulicki, Ph.D., P.E, S.E., chairman and CEO of bridge engineering firm Modjeski and Masters, Mechanicsburg, Pa., is the recipient of the prestigious J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award for his significant achievements in bridge analysis and design. The award, presented on a selective basis by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), honors the pre-eminent engineers and architects who have made an outstanding contribution to the structural steel industry through their design work. Kulicki will be honored at the 2012 NASCC: The Steel Conference (www.aisc.org/nascc) at the Gaylord Texan Convention Center in Dallas, April 18-21.

“John’s work has advanced the state of the art in every aspect of steel bridge design,” said Bill McEleney, director of the National Steel Bridge Alliance (NSBA). “Aside from his signature achievement of leading the AASHTO LRFD bridge code development team, the diversity of steel bridge types he has designed across the country is a clear indication of the broad range of his design acumen. His willingness to share his expertise has benefited the bridge design community today and will continue to inform steel bridge designers of the future.”

Kulicki is recognized as a premier bridge designer of his generation and holds more than 40 years of notable experience in bridge analysis and design. He joined Modjeski and Masters in 1974 and has led analysis and design work for numerous bridge projects including suspension, cable-stayed, long-span truss and arch bridges, and girder bridges. He supervised the design of such notable structures as the long-span Second Blue Water Bridge between Port Huron, Mich., and Point Edward, Ontario - winning a 1997 ASCE Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement Award and a Prize Bridge Award by NSBA in 2000. Currently, as chairman and CEO he continues to manage design projects, develop design criteria and supervise all phases of design.

A graduate of Lafayette College and Lehigh University, Kulicki’s abundant industry experience also includes teaching, research, and code development. He’s authored more than 80 technical papers and presentations and has contributed to the development of several engineering handbooks as well as AASHTO’s "Guide Specifications for Load Factor Design of Trusses,” for which he was named one of ENR's "Men Who Made Marks" in 1984. He also assembled and led a 50-member team of experts to develop the “LRFD Bridge Design Specification,” which was adopted by AASHTO in 1993. At the 1996 International Bridge Conference (IBC) he received the George S. Richardson Medal for leading the development and implementation of the LRFD Specifications.

Throughout his career, Kulicki has earned many prominent awards including a 2002 “Engineer of the Year” award by the Pennsylvania Society of Professional Engineers, and a 2001 “Special Citation” from NSBA for his contributions to the art and science of bridge engineering. He received a 2002 AISC Lifetime Achievement Award and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in the Class of 2006. He received AISI’s 2009 Richard S. Fountain Bridge Task Force Award and the IBC’s 2010 John A. Roebling Medal for lifetime achievement in bridge engineering, as well as a 2010 Walter P Moore Award by ASCE for outstanding achievement in bridge engineering.

Past Kimbrough Award winners include: Lawrence Griffis, Walter P Moore, Houston (2009); James M. Fisher, Computerized Structural Design, Milwaukee, Wis. (2006); Leslie E. Robertson, Leslie E. Robertson Associates, New York (2001); William J. LeMessurier, LeMessurier Consultants, Inc., Cambridge, Mass. (1999). Prior to 1999, this award was given to individuals who had made an outstanding contribution to the structural steel fabricating industry regardless of whether they were designers. In 1999, the Kimbrough Award was designated for designers only, and separate awards were established for academics (Geerhard Haaijer Educator Award) and those who work in the steel industry (Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence).

To view all past winners and learn more about the Kimbrough Award, as well other AISC awards programs, visit www.aisc.org/awards.


For more information contact:

Tasha Weiss
Communications Department
(312) 670-5439
[email protected]


American Institute of Steel Construction
The American Institute of Steel Construction, headquartered in Chicago, is a not-for-profit technical institute and trade association established in 1921 to serve the structural steel design community and construction industry. AISC’s mission is to make structural steel the material of choice by being the leader in structural steel-related technical and market-building activities, including: specification and code development, research, education, technical assistance, quality certification, standardization, and market development. AISC has a long tradition of service to the steel construction industry of providing timely and reliable information. 

130 East Randolph St. Suite 2000
Chicago IL 60601
Phone: 312.670.2400
Fax: 312.626.2402