540
spacer
Podcasts
spacer
Night School
spacer
steelTOOLS
spacer

AISC Kicks Off New Safety Webinar Series July 25 with Free Presentation on Arc Flash Safety

June 27, 2013 from American Institute of Steel Construction

(Chicago, IL) – The American Institute of Steel Construction is offering a new webinar series focused on safety, which kicks off on July 25 with a free presentation on arc flash safety. Steel fabricators and erectors will learn about arc flash and other electrical safety hazards, the requirements in NFPA 70E and suggested safe working practices around electrical hazards. To register for this free webinar, go to www.aisc.org/arcflashsafety.  

“Whether in the fabrication shop or the field, energized equipment is a hazard that can result in severe injuries if workers are exposed to accidental electric arcs as equipment is being serviced,” said Tom Schlafly, AISC director of safety. “It’s important for structural steel fabricators and erectors to understand these hazards and know how to apply current safety practices in this area.”

The 75-minute webinar will begin at the following times, relative to time zone:

9:30 a.m. PDT
10:30 a.m. MDT
11:30 a.m. CDT
12:30 p.m. EDT

There is no fee to attend the webinar but registration is required. Registrants will also receive access to a PDF file of the presentation slides prior to the webinar.

To learn more about AISC’s live webinars, visit www.aisc.org/webinars. For more information on safety in the fabricated and erected structural steel industry, visit www.aisc.org/safety.

###

For more information contact:

Tasha Weiss
Communications Department
(312) 670-5439
[email protected]

 

 

 

American Institute of Steel Construction
The American Institute of Steel Construction, headquartered in Chicago, is a not-for-profit technical institute and trade association established in 1921 to serve the structural steel design community and construction industry. AISC’s mission is to make structural steel the material of choice by being the leader in structural steel-related technical and market-building activities, including: specification and code development, research, education, technical assistance, quality certification, standardization, and market development. AISC has a long tradition of service to the steel construction industry of providing timely and reliable information. 

130 East Randolph St. Suite 2000
Chicago IL 60601
Phone: (312) 670-2400
Fax: (312) 896-9022
www.aisc.org