540
spacer
Podcasts
spacer
Night School
spacer
steelTOOLS
spacer

AISC Offers Free Hazard Communication Training Webinar for Fabricators and Erectors Oct. 30

September 13, 2013 from American Institute of Steel Construction

(Chicago, IL) – OSHA’s new Globally Harmonized System (GHS) for Hazard Communication requires fabricators and erectors to provide training to their employees on the new standard requirements by December 1, 2013. To help fabricators and erectors learn what the new GHS requirements are, how to comply with them and meet the training requirements, AISC is offering a free webinar on October 30, 2013. This webinar is intended for users, not producers, of hazardous chemicals. To register, go to www.aisc.org/hazcomwebinar.

“In March 2012, OSHA issued a new Hazard Communication Standard (77 FR 17574) which completely revised the existing 1987 Hazard Communication Standard (52 FR 31852) by incorporating the United Nations Global Harmonization Standard (GHS),” said Lawrence F. Kruth, P.E., vice president of engineering, technology and safety at Douglas Steel Fabricating Corporation, Lansing, Mich., chairman of AISC’s Safety Committee and the webinar speaker. “By December 1, 2013, all employees must be trained on the new label elements and safety data sheet (SDS) format. This webinar will offer guidance on how fabricators and erectors can comply with this requirement.”

The 75-minute webinar will begin at the following times, relative to time zone:

9:30 a.m. PDT
10:30 a.m. MDT
11:30 a.m. CDT
12:30 p.m. EDT

Participants who complete the feedback survey will receive a complimentary laminated poster on GHS in English and Spanish.

There is no fee to attend the webinar but registration is required. Registrants will also receive access to a PDF file of the presentation slides prior to the webinar.

To learn more about safety in the fabricated and erected structural steel industry, visit www.aisc.org/safety. For more information on AISC’s live webinars, visit www.aisc.org/webinars.

###

For more information contact:

Tasha Weiss
Communications Department
(312) 670-5439
[email protected]

American Institute of Steel Construction
The American Institute of Steel Construction, headquartered in Chicago, is a not-for-profit technical institute and trade association established in 1921 to serve the structural steel design community and construction industry. AISC’s mission is to make structural steel the material of choice by being the leader in structural steel-related technical and market-building activities, including: specification and code development, research, education, technical assistance, quality certification, standardization, and market development. AISC has a long tradition of service to the steel construction industry of providing timely and reliable information.

One East Wacker Dr. Suite 700
Chicago IL 60601
Phone: (312) 670-2400
Fax: (312) 896-9022
www.aisc.org