Continuing Education

That's Not Fracture-Critical: Classifying System Redundant Members

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) began recognizing system-redundant members (SRMs) in a 2012 memorandum clarifying the requirements on fracture-critical members (FCMs). The FHWA memorandum defines an SRM as a member that receives fabrication according to the Fracture Control Plan but is not considered an FCM for in-service inspection, allowing owners to more efficiently manage resources for bridge inspections.

This webinar is a great way for owners and consulting engineers to learn the ins and outs of the FHWA process for classifying SRMs and how the Texas DOT and Wisconsin DOT have implemented this practice.


This course is based on a past AISC Live Webinar.

  • Date: 8/11/2020
  • PDH Credits: 0


Dayi Wang, PE, PhD; Jamie Farris, PE; Andrew Smith, PE


That's Not Fracture Critical: Classifying System Redundant Members