University Programs

Fast Start Scholarships

Now accepting applications for the 2020-21 Academic Year AISC David B. Ratterman Fast Start Scholarships

Awards totaling $70,000!

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible applicants must be:

  • the child of an AISC Full Member company employee OR share a permanent residence with an AISC Full Member company employee. Employees must work for a facility that produces, distributes or fabricates structural steel for use in buildings and bridges and whose tonnage is used in the calculation of the members required contributions to the AISC Education Foundation.
  • a Freshman or Sophomore level student during the full 2020-21 academic year.
  • attending a 2-year or 4-year college full-time.


Congratulations to the 2019-20 AISC Scholarship winners!

AISC is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019-20 academic year AISC David B. Ratterman Fast Start Scholarships.

2019-20 Fast Start Scholarship Winners

Winners Attending 2-Year Programs

Name School AISC Member Company Employee Amount
Nathan Box TBD M & J Steel, LLC $2,000
Amy Corneliusen Ridgewater College Contech Engineered Solutions $2,000
Logan Dalton Ouachita Baptist University W&W/AFCO Steel $2,000
Matthew Fleischer Asheville–Buncombe Technical Community College (AB-Tech) Dave Steel Company, Inc. $2,000
Joseph Richter Bismarck State College TrueNorth Steel


Emma Schlossman Harrisburg Area Community College Schlosser Steel, Inc.


Eric Unger Blue Ridge Community College Shickel Corporation


Winners Attending 4-Year Schools

Name School AISC Member Company Employee Amount
Chloe Auxier TBD
Cives Steel Company $4,000
Mick Bailey TBD
Patriot Erectors, Inc. $4,000
Aaliyah Biamby TBD
James A. McBrady Inc. $4,000
Samuel Blaser University of Nebraska Omaha Behlen Mfg. Co. $4,000
Daniel Breault TBD
ACE Welding Co. Inc.


Drew Grismer TBD Indiana Steel Fabricating, Inc. $4,000
Estrella Leos The University of Texas at Arlington Ennis Steel Industries $4,000
Zai Medina TBD

Olson Steel

Kendyll Meyer Indiana University Steel Dynamics, Inc. $4,000
Andra Raibulet Butler University F.A. Wilhelm Construction Co. Inc. $4,000
Isabella Timmons TBD JPW Erectors $4,000
Marissa Tucker TBD The L.C. Whitford Co., Inc. $4,000
Reyna Vialpando University of Northern Colorado Drake-Williams Steel $4,000

2019-20 Judging Panel

David Ratterman, Scholarship Committee Chair
Jack Klimp, Vice Chair, AISC Board of Directors
Lawrence Cox, AISC Board Member
Babette Freund, AISC Board Member
Patrick Leonard, AISC Board Member
Hugh McCaffrey, AISC Board Member