Seeking 2015 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award Nominations

Nominations are now being accepted for AISC’s prestigious T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award, which includes a $15,000 cash award. The award recognizes an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper or papers, published during the eligibility period, are considered an outstanding contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. The winner will be recognized at the 2015 NASCC: The Steel Conference, March 25-27 in Nashville, and also will present their lecture at various professional association events throughout the year.

AISC encourages anyone involved in the design community and steel construction industry to submit nominations. Nominations must be submitted by August 1, 2014, and include the following information:

  • Name and affiliation of the individual nominated (past winners may not be nominated again)
  • Title of the paper(s) for which the individual is nominated, including publication citation
  • Reasons for nomination

A copy of the paper(s), as well as any published discussion

The author must be a permanent resident of the U.S. and available to fulfill the commitments of the award. The paper(s) must have been published in a professional journal between January 1, 2009 and January 1, 2014, and the award winner is required to attend and present at the 2015 NASCC and also give a minimum of six presentations of their lecture on selected occasions during the year.

The award will be given to a nominated individual based on their reputation as a lecturer and the jury’s evaluation of the paper(s) named in the nomination. Papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.

Please send nominations for the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award to:

T.R. Higgins Award Nomination
c/o Janet T. Cummins
Engineering & Research Coordinator
American Institute of Steel Construction
One East Wacker Drive, Suite 700
Chicago, IL 60601

Or, nominations may be submitted via email to Janet Cummins at

The current T.R. Higgins Lecturer is Larry S. Muir, P.E., who subsequently became AISC’s director of technical assistance as of last December. Previously he provided structural steel consulting services to fabricators, erectors, and engineers, and served as a consultant in the AISC Steel Solutions Center. He’s honored for his paper “Designing Compact Gussets with the Uniform Force Method,” published in the first quarter 2008 issue of AISC’s Engineering Journal.

Other recent recipients include: William F. Baker, P.E., S.E., for co-authoring the papers “Stability Design of the Bow String Trusses of the Virginia Beach Convention Center” and “Applications of Structural Optimization in Architectural Design,” published in the proceedings of the combined 2012 ASCE Structures Congress and 20th Analysis and Computation Specialty Conference; Michel Bruneau, P.E., Ph.D., for his papers on steel plate shear wall design published in AISC’s Engineering Journal and the proceedings of the Canadian Conference on Earthquake Engineering; and Charles W. Roeder, P.E., Ph.D., for his paper “Gusset Plate Connections for Seismic Design,” published in the Proceedings of the Sixth International Workshop on Connections in Steel Structures.

The award is named for Theodore R. Higgins, Ph.D., former AISC director of engineering and research, who was widely acclaimed for his many contributions to the advancement of engineering technology related to fabricated structural steel.

More information on the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award and its past winners can be found