AISC to Award 12 Top Professionals at NASCC: The Steel Conference

Pictured from top left corner going clockwise: Roger E. Ferch, PE; Rex Lewis; Stephen E. Porter; David Harwell; Roberto T. Leon, PE, PhD; Domenic A. Coletti, PE; Hussam Mahmoud, PhD; Patricia M. Clayton, PhD; Amit H. Varma, PhD; Amit Kanvinde, PhD; Edward P. Wasserman, PE; and Edward T. Hazledine. 

Twelve leaders from across the structural steel design, construction and academic communities will be presented with awards by AISC at the 2017 NASCC: The Steel Conference (March 22-24 in San Antonio).

Roger E. Ferch, PE, former president of AISC, will receive the Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence, one of AISC’s highest honors. Rex Lewis, president of Puma Steel, and Stephen E. Porter, past president of Indiana Steel Fabricating, Inc., will be honored with the Chairman's Award for outstanding service as members of the AISC Board of Directors. Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to David Harwell, president of Central Texas Iron Works, Inc.; Edward T. Hazeldine, president and CEO of Benchmark Fabricated Steel; Roberto T. Leon, PE, PhD, D.H. Burrows professor of construction engineering at Virginia Tech; and Edward P. Wasserman, PE, senior engineer at Modjeski and Masters. Special Achievement Awards will be given to Domenic A. Coletti, PE, technical manager – structural engineering at Michael Baker International; Amit Kanvinde, PhD, professor and chair at the University of California, Davis; and Amit H. Varma, PhD, professor at Purdue University. In addition, Patricia M. Clayton, PhD, assistant professor at the University of Texas at Austin, and Hussam Mahmoud, PhD, assistant professor and director, structural laboratory, at Colorado State University, will receive the Early Career Faculty Award.

For more about the winners’ achievements, see AISC’s announcement. For more information about The Steel Conference, visit To learn more about AISC's award programs, visit