Nominations for 2023 AISC Individual Awards Due September 15

July 25, 2022


CHICAGO - The American Institute of Steel Construction is now accepting nominations for its 2023 award programs that honor remarkable people.

Each year, AISC presents Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards to exceptional industry professionals, designers, and educators. The 2023 winners will receive special recognition at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Charlotte, N.C., April 12-14, 2023.

"The design community and domestic fabricated steel construction industry today are all about innovation," said AISC President Charles J. Carter, SE, PE, PhD, “and that's driven by the extraordinary leaders who make a difference shaping the built environment of today and tomorrow. AISC is honored to highlight the people who make our industry, design, and structural steel so special."

In addition to the Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards for educators, AISC presents the Terry Peshia Early Career Faculty Awards to tenure-track faculty who demonstrate exceptional promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching, and other contributions to the structural steel industry.

To learn more or submit a nomination, please visit

Nominations are due September 15, 2022.

What are AISC’s individual awards?

Lifetime Achievement Awards honor individuals whose long-term, dedicated service to AISC and the industry as a whole have made a difference to drive innovation forward.

Special Achievement Awards recognize singular achievements in design, construction, education, and research.

In truly remarkable cases, AISC will also present its most prestigious awards.

The J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award honors living engineers and architects who are universally recognized as the pre-eminent steel designers of their era. Past winners of the Kimbrough Award include Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1961), Othmar A. Ammann (1964), Fazlur R. Khan (1973), and Leslie E. Robertson (2001). The award was most recently presented last year, to David I. Ruby of Ruby + Associates in Bingham Farms, Mich.

The Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence is a special honor for those who have demonstrated unparalleled leadership in the steel construction industry. AISC has presented it to only nine individuals since 1998, including Duane K. Miller of The Lincoln Electric Company (2016), Daniel R. DiMicco of Nucor Corporation (2012), and Robert D. Freeland of Havens Steel Company (2002).

TheGeerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education recognizes those who, through research and teaching, have had a profound and lasting impact on advancing the use of structural steel framing in the construction industry. Only seven individuals have won the Haaijer Award since 1999; they include Theodore V. Galambos of the University of Minnesota (1999), Lynn S. Beedle (2003) and John W. Fisher (2006) of Lehigh University, and, most recently, Bruce R. Ellingwood of Colorado State University (2018). The award was most recently presented in 2022 to D.H. Burrows Professor of Construction Engineering Roberto T. Leon, PE, PhD, of Virginia Tech.


For more information contact:

Dani Friedland
Director of Marketing Communications

American Institute of Steel Construction

The American Institute of Steel Construction, headquartered in Chicago, is a non-partisan, not-for-profit technical institute and trade association established in 1921 to serve the structural steel design community and construction industry. AISC's mission is to make structural steel the material of choice by being the leader in structural steel-related technical and market-building activities, including specification and code development, research, education, technical assistance, quality certification, standardization, market development, and advocacy. AISC has a long tradition of service to the steel construction industry of providing timely and reliable information. 

130 E. Randolph St, Suite 2000
Chicago IL 60601