The Safety Programs at AISC are guided by the Safety Committee. The committee is a group of people who are responsible for safety in their active member shop and field operations


The Committee's mission is to encourage and facilitate member organizations' achievement of their zero-injury safety goals.

Current Activites

Current Safety Committee activities include:

  • Compile a set of safety forms to supplement safety programs for fabricators and erectors
  • Add new safety details, also known as "tool box talks"
  • Provide reviews for safety products and training videos
  • Oversight and addition of web-based safety resources
  • Develop a presentation for NASCC
  • Contribute articles to Modern Steel Construction

Current Safety Committee Members

  • Kristen Chipman (Chair)
  • Tom Schlafly (Secretary) 
  • Patrick Leonard
  • Kathleen Dobson
  • Jason Farris
  • Nathan Shepherd



Tom Schlafly

Chief of Engineering Staff