National Steel Bridge Alliance

Prize Bridge Awards

Submissions for the 2024 Prize Bridge Awards have closed.

Thanks to everyone who entered! Look out for the winners announcement in early 2024.

Congratulations to the 2022 Prize Bridge Award winners!

The American Institute of Steel Construction and the National Steel Bridge Alliance are proud to announce the winners of the 2022 Prize Bridge Awards.

"These projects demonstrate the creativity and skill of the structural steel design and construction industry, " said AISC President Charles J. Carter, SE, PE, PhD. "This is our opportunity to celebrate the achievements of these project teams."

A team of four nationally recognized experts in bridge design and construction served as this year's jury:

  • Domenic Coletti, PE, principal bridge engineer, HDR Inc.
  • Jamie Farris, PE, bridge division deputy director, Texas Department of Transportation
  • Finn Hubbard, PE, vice president, Fickett Structural Solutions, Inc.
  • Natalie McCombs, PE, SE senior bridge technical advisor, HNTB

These dedicated judges considered every entry's merits in terms of innovation, economics, aesthetics, design, and engineering solutions.

Major span

  • National: I-74 Mississippi River Bridge - Westbound Span (Bettendorf, Iowa and Moline, Ill.) - submitted by Modjeski and Masters

Medium span

  • National: I-91 Interchange 29 Exit Ramp Flyover Bridge (Hartford, Conn.) - submitted by CHA Consulting
  • Merit: Arlington Memorial Bridge (Washington, D.C. and Arlington County, Va.) - submitted by High Steel Structures

Short span

  • National: Metro-North Railroad Bridge over Atlantic Street (Stamford, Conn.) - submitted by Atane Consulting


  • National: Baker's Haulover Cut Bridge Rehabilitation (Bal Harbour, Fla.) - submitted by TranSystems
  • Merit: Hernando de Soto Bridge (Memphis, Tenn. and West Memphis, Ark.) - submitted by Michael Baker International

Special purpose

  •  National: Green Street Pedestrian Bridge (Winston-Salem, N.C.) - submitted by HDR Inc.
  • Merit: Dublin Link Pedestrian Bridge (Dublin, Ohio) - submitted by Endrestudio and Kokosing Construction Co.

Congratulations to the folks behind the  I-91 Interchange 29 Exit Ramp Flyover Bridge in Hartford, Conn., which won the inaugural NSBA Bridge of the Year Award!

Judges weighed each project's use of structural steel from both an architectural and structural engineering perspective, with an emphasis on creative solutions to the project's program requirements; applications of innovative design approaches in areas such as connections, gravity systems, lateral load resisting systems, fire and/or blast protection; aesthetic and visual impact of the project; innovative use of architecturally exposed structural steel (AESS); technical or architectural advances in the use of the steel; and/or the use of innovative design and construction methods. The Prize Bridge Award program also recognizes the importance of teamwork, coordination, and collaboration in fostering successful projects.