AISC Certification

Sample Specification Language


(also commonly referred to as “QUALITY ASSURANCE”)

A. Erector Qualifications: A qualified installer who participates in the AISC Certification program and is designated an AISC Certified Erector, Category [CSE] at time of bid.

B. Fabricator Qualifications: A qualified fabricator who participates in the AISC Certification program and is designated an AISC Certified Plant, Category [BU] at time of bid.

C. Comply with applicable provisions of AISC's "Code of Standard Practice for Steel Buildings and Bridges." <[Year] or [current edition]>


Building QMS Certification (BU)

This program's governing document is the Certification Standard for Steel Building Structures and describes certification requirements for building fabricators regardless of project size and complexity. Certification includes all functions of providing Structural Steel fabrication from receipt of contract through final delivery. AISC believes there is a basic level of quality all fabricators must maintain regardless of the facility’s size or capacity.

Bridge QMS Certification

In 2014, this program completed the conversion to a standard-based bridge certification, which replaces the previous checklist criteria. This transition completes a two-year process of converting bridge participants and applicants to the AISC Certification Program Requirements for Steel Bridge Fabricators. In addition, the program requirements introduce the certification categories of Certified Bridge Fabricator: Simple (SBR), Intermediate (IBR), and Advanced (ABR). Certificates will temporarily continue to include either the “Intermediate/Major” or “Advanced/Major” designations to allow transportation departments additional time to update their standard specifications.

Categories as defined by the Bridge Requirements & Standard:

  • Certified Bridge Fabricator - Simple (SBR) consists of unspliced rolled setions
  • Certified Bridge Fabricator - Intermediate (IBR) are typical bridges that do not require extraordinary measures. Typical examples might include: (1) a rolled beam bridge with field or shop splices, either straight or with a raidus over 500 ft; (2) a built-up I-shaped plate girder bridge with constant web depth (except for dapped ends), with or without splices, either stright or with a radius over 500 ft; (3) a built-up I-shaped plate girder with variable web depth (e.g., haunched), either straight or with a radius over 1000 ft; (4) a truss with a length of 200 ft or less that is entirely or substanially pre-assembled at the certified
  • Certified Bridge Fabricator - Advanced (ABR) are those requiring an additional standard of care in fabrication and erection, particularly with regard to geometric tolerances. Examples include tub or trapezoidal box girders, closed box girders, large or non-preassembled trusses, arches, bascule bridges, cable-support bridges, moveable bridges, and bridge with particuarly tight curve radius.  

Bridge Component QMS Certification (CPT)

This program's governing document is the Standard for Bridge and Highway Metal Component Manufacturers and describes certification requirements for facilities that manufacture and supply specific components, composed primarily of metal to bridge and highway construction projects. Certification is appropriate for manufacturers of components that include bracing not designed for primary loads (diaphragms, cross frames and lateral bracing); camera, light, sign and signal support structures; bridge rail; stairs; walkways; grid decks; drains; scuppers; expansion joints; bearings; ballast plates; and mechanical movable bridge equipment.

Hydraulic QMS Certification (HYD)

This program's governing document is the AISC Certification Program Requirements for Fabricators of Hydraulic Steel Structures. It is applicable to the following types of hydraulic steel structures: Lock gates (miter gates, vertical-lift gates, sector gates, roller gates and submergible tainter gates), spillway gates, bulkheads, needle beams, lock culvert valves, and stop logs used in navigation, flood control or hydropower projects and similar structures. Please note, AISC Certification is address-specific, so each fabrication facility must apply separately. 

Sophisticated Paint Endorsement (SPE)

This OPTIONAL endorsement’s governing document is the Standard for Shop Application of Complex Protective Coating Systems, which was developed as a joint effort with Society for Protective Coatings: SSPC to streamline the criteria for both the marketplace and industry. The program evaluates the qualifications of structural steel fabricators and manufacturers of bridge and highway metal components who apply sophisticated or industrial protective coatings, such as zincs, expoxies, urethanes, or multi-coat systems in their paint shops following fabrication. There are three categories: P1-Sophisticated Paint Endorsement-Enclosed, P2-Sophisticated Paint Endorsement-Covered, and P3-Sophisticated Paint Endorsement-Outside. The program is optional for all AISC Certified fabricator participants.

Fracture Critical Endorsement (FC)

This OPTIONAL endorsement is focused on the requirements of AWS D1.5, Clause 12, AASHTO/AWS Fracture Control Plan for Nonredundant Members. The provisions of Clause 12 apply to steel bridge members or components that are designated as “fracture critical.” Fracture critical members are basically tension members, or portions of members, of a bridge whose failure could cause a partial or complete collapse of the bridge. The program will evaluate the capability of the bridge fabricator to meet the more stringent fabrication demands of the D1.5 Fracture Control Plan. This endorsement is optional for only Certified Bridge Fabricators or Component Manufacturers.


Erector QMS CErtification (CSE)

Program Requirements for AISC Certfied Erectors of Structural Steel is the governing program document and references the Standard for Structural Steel Erectors.  These documents describe the criteria of a quality management system and safety management system for structural steel erectors. The quality management system shall address all functions of structural steel erection from receipt of contract through completion of  the work of the erector. The Erector Requirements will supersede the checklist criteria and categories (Certified Steel Erector and Advanced Certified Steel Erector). This  began for new applicants on February 2, 2015, and the conversion of current participants will end December, 2017. The program also includes three optional endorsements: seismic, metal deck and bridge erection.