Steel Industry Leaders Recognized for Outstanding Achievements

Yesterday, eleven steel industry superstars received awards from AISC at the 2015 NASCC: The Steel Conference at Music City Center in Nashville. These deserving professionals are honored for their exceptional contributions to the advancement of the structural steel design and construction industry.

AISC’s Lifetime Achievement Award honors individuals who have made a difference in the structural steel industry's success and recognizes their outstanding service over a sustained period of years to AISC and the structural steel design/construction/academic community.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Peter Birkemoe, Ph.D., P.E., professional emeritus, University of Toronto
  • Michael D. Engelhardt, Ph.D., P.E., professor, University of Texas at Austin
  • Socrates Ioannides, president, Structural Affiliates International
  • Richard Kaehler, vice president, Computerized Structural Design

AISC’s Special Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated notable achievements in structural steel design, construction, research or education. It honors those who have made a positive and substantial impact on the structural steel design and construction industry. This year’s award recipients are:

  • Abbas Aminmonsour, Ph.D., associate professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Terri Meyer Boake, professor, University of Waterloo
  • Ahmad M. Itani, Ph.D., professor, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Ian G. Buckle, Ph.D., professor, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Ahmad Rahimian, chief executive officer, WSP
  • Yoram Eilon, vice president, WSP
  • Robert Shaw, president, Steel Structures Technology Center

Information about the winners’ achievements can be found in AISC’s press release. To learn more about AISC’s awards programs, go to