Nominations Sought for 2017 Higgins Lectureship Award

The 2016 T.R. Higgins Award recipient Maria Garlock of Princeton University (middle) with AISC President Roger Ferch (left) and AISC Chair James Thompson (right). 

Nominations are being accepted through August 1 for the prestigious T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award, which includes a $15,000 cash prize. Presented annually by AISC, the award recognizes a lecturer-author whose technical paper(s) are considered an outstanding contribution to engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. The winner will be recognized at the 2017 NASCC: The Steel Conference, March 22-25 in San Antonio, and also will present their lecture, upon request, at various professional association events throughout the year.

Nominations should be emailed to AISC’s Janet Cummins at Or, if you’d prefer to mail your nomination, contact Janet for mailing information. Nominations must be submitted by August 1, 2016, and include the following information:

  • Name and affiliation of the individual nominated (past winners are not eligible to be nominated again)
  • Title of the paper(s) for which the individual is nominated, including publication citation
  • If the paper has multiple authors, identify the principal author
  • Reasons for nomination
  • A copy of the paper(s), as well as any published discussion

The author must be a permanent resident of the U.S. and available to fulfill the commitments of the award. The paper(s) must have been published in a professional journal between January 1, 2011 and January 1, 2016. In addition, the award winner is required to attend and present at the 2017 Steel Conference and also give a minimum of six presentations of their lecture on selected occasions during the year.

The award will be given to a nominated individual based on their reputation as a lecturer and the jury's evaluation of the paper(s) named in the nomination. Papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.

The current T.R. Higgins Lecturer is Maria Garlock, Ph.D., P.E., associate professor in the department of civil and environmental engineering at Princeton University, who received the award for several of her papers on fire resistance in steel structures. If your organization is interested in hosting a T.R. Higgins lecture, please contact AISC’s Nancy Gavlin, S.E., director of education, at

The award is named for Theodore R. Higgins, former AISC director of engineering and research, who was widely acclaimed for his many contributions to the advancement of engineering technology related to fabricated structural steel. The award honors Higgins for his innovative engineering, timely technical papers and distinguished lectures. For more information about the award, visit