Nominations Sought for 2019 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award

2018 T.R. Higgins Award winner, Robert J. Connor, presenting his paper at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Baltimore. Photo:

Everyone involved in steel design and construction is encouraged to submit nominations for the prestigious T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award, which includes a $15,000 cash prize. Presented annually by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), the award recognizes a lecturer-author whose technical paper (or papers) is considered an outstanding contribution to engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. The winner will be recognized at the 2019 NASCC: The Steel Conference, April 3-5 in St. Louis, and will present their lecture, upon request, at various professional association events throughout the year.

The award will be given to a nominated individual based on their reputation as a lecturer and the jury's evaluation of the paper(s) named in the nomination. Papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.

Nominations will be accepted until August 1, 2018. For information on submitting a nomination, please visit For questions about submitting a nomination, please contact AISC’s Rachel Jordan at

The current T.R. Higgins lecturer is Robert J. Connor, PhD, professor of civil engineering at Purdue University. He received this year’s award for his papers, “State-of-the-Art Fracture Characterization I: Master Curve Analysis of Legacy Bridge Steels,” “State-of-the-Art Fracture Characterization II: Correlations between Charpy V-Notch and the Master Curve Reference Temperature,” and other papers related to fatigue and bridge design, as well as for his outstanding reputation as an engineer and lecturer. If your organization is interested in hosting a T.R. Higgins lecture, pease contact AISC’s Christina Harber at