High Steel’s John O’Quinn Receives Steel Bridge Task Force Honor

The Steel Bridge Task Force has presented the 2023 Alexander D. Wilson Memorial Award to John O’Quinn, president of High Steel Structures, LLC.

The award honors individuals who have made significant industry contributions to advance steel as the material of choice for steel bridge supply, production, design, fabrication or construction.

Dan Synder, vice president of the construction program at the American Iron and Steel Institute, noted that O’Quinn has provided years of mentoring and guidance to researchers as well as financial and materials support for their research.

“His direct support has enabled significant technological advancements for the steel bridge industry,” said Snyder. “John is highly respected and greatly appreciated by his peers, and it is an honor to recognize his contributions and lasting impact on our industry with the 2023 Alexander D. Wilson Memorial Award.”

“John is passionate about steel bridges and strives to improve the entire industry on a daily basis,” said National Steel Bridge Alliance Senior Director of Market Development Jeff Carlson. “I’m thrilled to see him recognized for everything he does.”

O’Quinn currently serves on the American Institute of Steel Construction’s Board of Directors and is vice-chair of AISC's Government Relations committee. He has also served as chair of the National Steel Bridge Alliance’s Market Development committee.

He started his steel career with an entry-level position in 1980, working his way up from material handler to management at Carolina Steel. In 1993, he founded O’Quinn Enterprises, his own steel fabrication and erection company, before returning to Carolina Steel/Hirschfeld Industries as vice president. He has served as president of High Steel Structures, LLC, since 2016.

The Steel Bridge Task Force has coordinated research that establishes safe, cost-effective steel bridges and worked to implement those developments into steel specifications (specifically the AASHTO design codes) for the last four decades. Its members include the National Steel Bridge Alliance (a division of the American Institute of Steel Construction), the American Iron and Steel Institute, the AASHTO Steel and Metals Technical Committee, steel producers, steel organizations, steel bridge fabricators, bridge owners, university faculty, consultants, and representatives from the Federal Highway Administration.