In This Section

T.R. Higgins Award

Each year, AISC's T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper or papers, published during the eligibility period, are considered an outstanding contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel.

The award is named for Theodore R. Higgins, former AISC Director of Engineering and Research, who was widely acclaimed for his many contributions to the advancement of engineering technology related to fabricated structural steel. The award honors Theodore for his innovative engineering, timely technical papers and distinguished lectures.

Winners will receive a framed certificate, which is presented at the annual AISC North American Steel Construction Conference (NASCC). Winners receive a $15,000 cash award and will present their lecture, upon request, at professional association events.


If your organization is interested in hosting a T.R. Higgins lecture, contact Christina Harber, director of education, at AISC reimburses the speaker's travel expenses for qualifying events.


The current T.R. Higgins Lecturer is Todd Helwig who receved the 2017 T.R. Higgins Award at the NASCC in San Antonio, TX in March 2017. Professor Helwig's lecture is titled "Effective Bracing of Flexural Members and Systems in Steel Buildings and Bridges".


The next T.R. Higgins Lecturer is Robert J. Connor, PhD, Purdue University, who will receive the 2018 T.R. Higgins Award at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Baltimore. His lecture, "Towards an Integrated Fracture-Control Plan for Steel Bridges" will take place Friday, April 13 at 10 a.m. For more information view the Advance Program, page nine. 


Theodore R. Higgins joined the Institute in 1940 as chief engineer and was its director of Engineering and Research from 1945 to 1968. During his tenure he was involved in all aspects of the Institute's wide variety of research activities. He played an especially prominent role in the more than 20 years of research, which led to the development of plastic design techniques for steel structures. Theodore authored the Institute's first manual on plastic design, Plastic Design in Steel.

A resolution adopted by the Institute's Board of Directors honored Higgins for his unparalleled service to the structural steel industry. The resolution defines him as a pioneer in developing the research and engineering principles which form the basis of steel design and construction today. "Theodore Higgins possessed that unique ability to translate research results into practical applications," the resolution reads.


Each year AISC invites a distinguished panel of industry experts to judge the nominations for the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award. The jury reflects a blend of professional insight, industry experience and academic excellence.

The following jurors have been selected to judge the nominations for the 2019 award:

Scott F. Armbrust
LeJeune Steel Company
Minneapolis, MN

Robert Chmielowski
Magnusson Klemencic Associates
Seattle, WA

Chris Crosby
Industrial Steel Construction
Gary, IN

Louis F. Geschwindner
Penn State University
State College, PA

James O. Malley
Degenkolb Engineers
San Francisco, CA

Paul Richards
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT