In This Section

How to Nominate

AISC encourages everyone involved with steel construction to submit nominations. Include the following information:

  • Name and affiliation of the individual nominated (past winners may not be nominated again)
  • Title of the paper(s) for which the individual is nominated, including publication citation.
  • If the paper(s) have multiple authors, identify the principal author.
  • Reasons for nomination.
  • A copy of the paper(s), as well as any published discussion.


The author must be a permanent resident of the United States, and available to fulfill the commitments of the award. The paper(s) must have been published in a professional journal within a designated five-year period (see dates below).

Basis of Selection

The award will be made to a nominated individual on the basis of two criteria:

  • His/her reputation as a lecturer.
  • The jury's evaluation of the paper or papers named in the nomination.

Papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance, and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.


The award winner will give a minimum of six presentations of the lecture on selected occasions during the year.

2021 Award Dates

Eligible papers must have been published between January 1, 2015, and January 1, 2020.
Nominations must be received by July 15, 2020.
The 2021 Award will be presented at the 2021 NASCC: The Steel Conference in Louisville.

Where to Send Nominations

Please email your nomination package to AISC's Engineering & Research Coordinator Rachel Jordan at or send it by mail to the address below. 

T.R. Higgins Award Nomination
c/o Rachel Jordan
Engineering & Research Coordinator
American Institute of Steel Construction
130 E. Randolph St., Suite 2000
Chicago, IL 60601-6204

If you have any questions, please contact Rachel Jordan at We look forward to reviewing your nominations!