2005 Engineering Awards of Excellence
The Engineering Awards of Excellence are presented annually by AISC to recognize engineering excellence and innovation in steel-framed buildings.

Around the Bend
By Mark King
What detailers should know about bending steel.

Bending and Rolling Products

EAE Awards: $10 million or greater, but less than $25 million National
Winner: University of Arizona Large Binocular Telescope Enclosure
Merit Award: St. Martin's Episcopal Church
Merit Award: Robert Hoag Rawlings Public Library

EAE Awards: $100 million or greater National
Winner: Seattle Central Library
Merit Award: Adaptive Reuse of Soldier Field
Merit Award: St. Luke's Hospital Cardiac Center and Patient Tower

EAE Awards: $25 million or greater, but less than $100 million
National Winner:William J. Clinton Presidential Center Museum Building
Merit Award: Jay Pritzker Pavilion
Merit Award: University of Chicago Graduate School of Business Hyde Park Center

EAE Awards: Less than $10 million

Quality Corner: What's in a Name?
By Roberta L. Marstellar, P.E.
The nomenclature for AISC Certification categories for building structures is changing to reflect the new certification standard. It's time to update your specifications!

SpecWise: All About Flexure
By Louis F. Geschwindner, Ph.D., P.E.
The 2005 AISC Specification combines flexural provisions for all shapes into one chapter.