AISC Honors 12 Leading Design, Construction, and Education Professionals

Congratulations to the 12 leaders recognized with 2021 AISC awards! Our awards honor individuals who have made a significant difference in the success of the fabricated structural steel industry, whether it's for an innovative design, an insightful technical paper, or a lifetime of outstanding service.

The honorees include experts in seismic design, dedicated AISC Task Committee members, past T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award recipients, bridge and transportation industry leaders, and up-and-coming educators. 

Lifetime Achievement Award 

  • Jerome F. Hajjar, PE, PhD - Professor, Northeastern University
  • John D. Hooper, SE, PE, F. SEI, F. ASCE - Senior Principal and Director of Earthquake Engineering, Magnusson Klemencic Associates
  • Dennis Noernberg - Consultant, W&W | Afco Steel
  • Jeffrey A. Packer, PEng, DSc, PhD - Professor, University of Toronto
  • Rafael Sabelli, SE - Director of Seismic Design, Walter P Moore 

Special Achievement Award

  • Scot Becker, PE - Deputy Administrator for Regions of DTSD, WisDOT
  • Jamie F. Farris, PE - Bridge Division Deputy Director, Texas Department of Transportation
  • Dale Ison - Executive Vice President of Advanced Technical Services, Tampa Tank Inc. / Florida Structural Steel
  • Gary W. Wisch, PE - Vice President, Engineering, Delong's, Inc.

Terry Peshia Early Career Faculty Award 

  • Mark D. Denavit, PE, PhD - Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Erica Fischer, PE, PhD - Assistant Professor, Oregon State University
  • Kara D. Peterman, PhD - Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Read more about the distinguished recipients of this year's awards here.