Nominate an Outstanding Individual for a 2022 AISC Award

Industry, Designer, and Educator Award Winners in 2021: (top left to right) Scot Becker, Mark D. Denavit, Jamie F. Farris, Erica Fischer; (middle left to right) Jerome F. Hajjar, John D. Hooper, Dennis Noernberg, Jeffrey A. Packer; (bottom left to right) Kara D. Peterman, Rafael Sabelli, Gary W. Wisch.

Do you know someone whose dedication and contributions to the industry deserve special recognition? Tell us all about it!

The American Institute of Steel Construction is soliciting nominations for its 2022 awards that honor individuals.

Each year, AISC presents Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards to exceptional industry professionals, designers, and educators. The 2022 winners will receive special recognition before the whole industry at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Denver, March 23-25, 2022.

"This is AISC's centennial year, and we've talked a lot about the legacy of both AISC and the volunteers who have made us successful," said AISC President Charles J. Carter, SE, PE, PhD. "It's important to honor the educators, designers, and industry professionals who have left indelible legacies on the domestic fabricated steel design and construction industry."

To learn more or submit a nomination, please visit

Nominations for educator awards are due September 3.

Nominations for industry professionals and designers are due September 25.

What are AISC’s individual awards?

Lifetime Achievement Awards honor individuals whose contributions over the years have made a difference in the success of both AISC and the industry as a whole.

Special Achievement Awards recognize singular achievements in design, construction, education, and research.

In addition to the Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards, AISC presents the Terry Peshia Early Career Faculty Awards to tenure-track faculty who demonstrate exceptional promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching, and other contributions to the structural steel industry.

In truly remarkable cases, AISC will also present its most prestigious awards.

The J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award honors living engineers and architects who are universally recognized as the pre-eminent steel designers of their era. Past winners of the Kimbrough Award include Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1961), Othmar A. Ammann (1964), Fazlur R. Khan (1973), and Leslie E. Robertson (2001).

The Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence is a special honor for those who have demonstrated unparalleled leadership in the steel construction industry. AISC has presented it to only nine individuals since 1998, including Duane K. Miller of The Lincoln Electric Company (2016), Daniel R. DiMicco of Nucor Corporation (2012), and Robert D. Freeland of Havens Steel Company (2002).

The Geerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education recognizes those who, through research and teaching, have had a profound and lasting impact on advancing the use of structural steel framing in the construction industry. Only seven individuals have won the Haaijer Award since 1999; they include Theodore V. Galambos of the University of Minnesota (1999), Lynn S. Beedle (2003) and John W. Fisher (2006) of Lehigh University, and, most recently, Bruce R. Ellingwood of Colorado State University (2018).