Geerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education

The Geerhard Haaijer Educator Award, named in memoriam for a former AISC Vice President (Technology and Research), is given in special recognition to individuals who have had a profound and lasting impact in developing a unique application for engineering practice or in the mentoring of future technical leaders. This prestigious award honors those who, through their research and teaching, have had an outstanding impact on advancing the use of structural steel framing in the construction industry. 


The selection panel will consider the individual's:

  • outstanding impact on the advancement of the use of structural steel through research or mentoring
  • contribution through writings, teaching and research
  • recognition by other educators for innovative leadership, excellence in teaching or significance of research
  • work with students through student organizations
  • introduction of innovative teaching methods and concepts

Please note: Nominees must be living at the time they are nominated. Also, because of the prestigious nature of this award, it is expected that this award will not be presented annually; rather, it will only be awarded when the selection panel believes that an individual has demonstrated pre-eminent contributions to the steel design and construction industry through their work as an educator.

How to Enter 

The nomination period for the 2021 awards program is now closed. The 2022 award nomination period will open in early Summer 2021. 

Past Winners


Bruce R. Ellingwood, PE, PhD, NAE, F SEI, Dist M ASCE, professor and College of Engineering eminent scholar, Colorado State University


Thomas M. Murray, Professor Emeritus, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Joseph A. Yura, Professor Emeritus, The University of Texas at Austin


John W. Fisher, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA


Lynn S. Beedle, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA


William McGuire, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY


Theodore V. Galambos, Professor Emeritus, University of Minnesota