J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award

The J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award, named for AISC's first President, honors engineers and architects who are universally recognized as the pre-eminent steel designers of their era. This prestigious award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the structural steel industry through his or her design work. Note: Prior to 1999, this award was given to indviduals who had made an outstanding contribution to the structural steel fabricating industry regardless of whether they were designers; in 1999, the Kimbrough Award was designated as being for designers only and separate awards were established for academics (Geerhard Haaijer Educator Award) and those who work in the steel industry (Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence).


The selection panel will consider the individual's:

  • recognition by their peers as one of the pre-eminent steel designers of their era;
  • portfolio of significant, notable, innovative and original projects; and
  • contribution to the advancement of the structural steel design industry.

Please note: Nominees must be living at the time they are nominated. Also, because of the prestigious nature of this award, it is expected that this award will not be presented annually; rather, it will only be awarded when the selection panel believes that an individual is clearly worthy of this honor.

How to Enter 

We are now accepting nominations for the J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award. The deadline to enter for the 2020 award-year is September 6, 2019. Click here to submit a nomination. 

Past Winners 

John Kulicki, Modjeski and Masters, Mechanicsburg, Pa.

Lawrence Griffis, Walter P Moore, Houston, TX

James M. Fisher, Computerized Structural Design, Milwaukee, WI

Leslie E. Robertson, Leslie E. Robertson, New York, NY

William J. LeMessurier, LeMessurier Consultants, Inc., Cambridge, MA

Fazlur R. Khan, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, Chicago, IL

Othmar A. Ammann, Port of New York Authority, New York, NY

Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, IL

General Leif J. Sverdrup, Sverdrup & Parcell, St. Louis, MO

David B. Steinman, Robinson and Steinman, New York, NY

Robert Moses, New York City Commissioner of Parks, New York, NY