Designer Awards

Designer awards are for individual members of the structural steel design industry, including architects and structural engineers. Ranked below by order of prestige, these awards recognize designers for their contributions to the structural steel industry. 

We are now accepting nominations for all of the award types listed below. These are all a part of our "Industry, Designer, and Educator" Awards Program. Winners will be announced in early 2020 and recognized at the 2020 NASCC: The Steel Conference in Atlanta, April 22-24.

The nomination period closes Friday, September 6, 2019.



J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award 

The J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award, named for AISC's first President, honors engineers and architects who are universally recognized as the pre-eminent steel designers of their era. This prestigious award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the structural steel industry through his or her design work. 

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Lifetime Achievement Awards honor living individuals who have made a difference in AISC's and the structural steel industry's success. The award provides special recognition to individuals who have provided outstanding service over a sustained period of years to AISC and to the structural steel design/construction/academic community.

Special Achievement Awards

A Special Achievement Award provides special recognition to individuals who have demonstrated notable singular or multiple achievements in structural steel design, construction, research or education. This award honors living individuals who have made a positive and substantial impact on the structural steel design and construction industry.