Nominate Someone Extraordinary for a 2023 AISC Award

2022 AISC Award winners Todd Helwig, Charlie Carter (AISC president), Larry Kloiber, Susan Burmeister, Grady Harvell, Robert Tremblay, Gian Rassati, Allen Adams, James Swanson, Roberto Leon, Ryan Sherman, Kara Peterman, Dave Ruby, Carol Drucker, and Steve Knitter (AISC board chair) at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Denver

AISC is now accepting nominations for its 2023 award programs that honor remarkable people.

Each year, AISC presents Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards to exceptional industry professionalsdesigners, and educators. The 2023 winners will receive special recognition at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Charlotte, N.C., April 12-14, 2023.

"The design community and domestic fabricated steel construction industry today are all about innovation," said AISC President Charles J. Carter, SE, PE, PhD, “and that's driven by the extraordinary leaders who make a difference shaping the built environment of today and tomorrow. AISC is honored to highlight the people who make our industry, design, and structural steel so special."

In addition to the Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards for educators, AISC presents the Terry Peshia Early Career Faculty Awards to tenure-track faculty who demonstrate exceptional promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching, and other contributions to the structural steel industry.

To learn more or submit a nomination, please visit

Nominations are due September 15, 2022.

What are AISC’s individual awards?

Lifetime Achievement Awards honor individuals whose long-term, dedicated service to AISC and the industry as a whole have made a difference to drive innovation forward.

Special Achievement Awards recognize singular achievements in design, construction, education, and research.

In truly remarkable cases, AISC will also present its most prestigious awards. 

The J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award honors living engineers and architects who are universally recognized as the pre-eminent steel designers of their era. Past winners of the Kimbrough Award include Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1961), Othmar A. Ammann (1964), Fazlur R. Khan (1973), and Leslie E. Robertson (2001). The award was most recently presented last year, to David I. Ruby of Ruby + Associates in Bingham Farms, Mich.

The Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence is a special honor for those who have demonstrated unparalleled leadership in the steel construction industry. AISC has presented it to only nine individuals since 1998, including Duane K. Miller of The Lincoln Electric Company (2016), Daniel R. DiMicco of Nucor Corporation (2012), and Robert D. Freeland of Havens Steel Company (2002).

The Geerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education recognizes those who, through research and teaching, have had a profound and lasting impact on advancing the use of structural steel framing in the construction industry. Only seven individuals have won the Haaijer Award since 1999; they include Theodore V. Galambos of the University of Minnesota (1999), Lynn S. Beedle (2003) and John W. Fisher (2006) of Lehigh University, and, most recently, Bruce R. Ellingwood of Colorado State University (2018). The award was most recently presented in 2022 to D.H. Burrows Professor of Construction Engineering Roberto T. Leon, PE, PhD, of Virginia Tech.