Nominate Someone Remarkable for an AISC Award

April 2, 2024


CHICAGO - The American Institute of Steel Construction is accepting nominations for its award programs that honor people who make a difference in the world of design and construction.

"Steel is a special material--and the people in our industry are responsible for its impact on how people live, work, and play," said AISC President Charles J. Carter, SE, PE, PhD. "AISC is honored to provide a well-deserved spotlight for their achievements."

Each year, AISC recognizes exceptional industry professionals, designers, and educators with Lifetime and Special Achievement Awards. AISC also presents the Terry Peshia Early Career Faculty Awards to tenure-track faculty who demonstrate exceptional promise in the areas of structural steel research, teaching, and other contributions to the structural steel industry.

Nominations are due July 15, 2024. The 2025 winners will receive special recognition at NASCC: The Steel Conference in Louisville, Ky., April 2 to 4, 2025.

To learn more or submit a nomination, please visit

What are AISC's Individual Awards?

Lifetime Achievement Awards honor individuals whose long-term, dedicated service to AISC and the industry as a whole have made a difference to drive innovation forward.

Special Achievement Awards recognize singular achievements in design, construction, education, and research.

In truly remarkable cases, AISC will also present its most prestigious awards.

The Geerhard Haaijer Award for Excellence in Education recognizes those who, through research and teaching, have had a profound and lasting impact on advancing the use of structural steel framing in the construction industry. Only nine individuals have won the Haaijer Award since 1999; they include Theodore V. Galambos of the University of Minnesota (1999), Lynn S. Beedle (2003) and John W. Fisher (2006) of Lehigh University, and Bruce R. Ellingwood of Colorado State University (2018). The award was most recently presented in 2023 to Michael Engelhardt, PE, PhD, of the University of Texas at Austin.

The J. Lloyd Kimbrough Award honors living engineers and architects who are universally recognized as the pre-eminent steel designers of their era. Past winners of the Kimbrough Award include Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1961), Othmar A. Ammann (1964), Fazlur R. Khan (1973), and Leslie E. Robertson (2001). The award was most recently presented at the Steel Conference just a few weeks ago, to Michael A. Grubb, PE, of M.A. Grubb & Assoc., LLC.

The Robert P. Stupp Award for Leadership Excellence is a special honor for those who have demonstrated unparalleled leadership in the steel construction industry. AISC has presented it to only 10 individuals since 1998, including David Zalesne of Owen Steel Company (2023), Duane K. Miller of The Lincoln Electric Company (2016), Daniel R. DiMicco of Nucor Corporation (2012), and Robert D. Freeland of Havens Steel Company (2002).


For more information contact:

Dani Friedland
Director of Marketing Communications

American Institute of Steel Construction

The American Institute of Steel Construction, headquartered in Chicago, is a non-partisan, not-for-profit technical institute and trade association established in 1921 to serve the structural steel design community and construction industry. AISC's mission is to make structural steel the material of choice by being the leader in structural steel-related technical and market-building activities, including specification and code development, research, education, technical assistance, quality certification, standardization, market development, and advocacy. AISC has a long tradition of service to the steel construction industry of providing timely and reliable information. 

130 E. Randolph St, Suite 2000
Chicago IL 60601