Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Awards honor living individuals who have made a difference in AISC's and the structural steel industry's success. The award provides special recognition to individuals who have provided outstanding service over a sustained period of years to AISC and to the structural steel design/construction/academic community. 

Congratulations to the 2019 AISC Lifetime Achievement Award Winners!

Stay tuned for more information on the 2020 Nomination Period. 

Guidelines for Designers + Industry

The individual should have:

  • served in AISC for several years whether on the board, committees, task groups and/or special projects
  • made a positive impact on advancing the use of structural steel
  • earned recognition by other industry groups
  • earned the respect of professional peers
  • reached the pinnacle of their profession
  • demonstrated over an extended period of time, innovation and originality in structural steel design and construction

Nominator Information

The candidate is my:

Candidate Information

Past Winners

Michel Bruneau, PhD, PEng, Professor, University at Buffalo
John P. Cross, PE, LEED AP, Consultant, Former Vice President (Retired), American Institute of Steel Construction
David B. Ratterman, Senior Member of Stites & Harbison, PLLC and Former AISC General Counsel
Doug Rutledge, Chief Integration Officer, KL&A Inc.

Michael A. Grubb, PE, M.A., Grubb and Associates, LLC
Donald W. White, PhD, professor, Georgia Institute of Technology
Thomas A. Sabol, SE, PhD, principal, Englekirk, and adjunct professor, UCLA

David Harwell, president, Central Texas Iron Works, Inc.
Edward T. Hazledine, president and CEO, Benchmark Fabricated Steel
Roberto T. Leon, PE, PhD, DM ASCE, D.H. Burrows professor of construction engineering, Virginia Tech
Edward P. Wasserman, PE, senior engineer, Modjeski and Masters

Gregory Deierlein, Ph.D., professor, Stanford University
Geoffrey Kulak, P.E., Ph.D., professor emeritus, University of Alberta
James Stori, P.E., STS Steel

Peter Birkemoe, Ph.D., P.E., professional emeritus, University of Toronto
Michael D. Engelhardt, Ph.D. P.E., professor, University of Texas at Austin
Socrates Ioannides, president, Structural Affiliates International
Richard Kaehler, vice president, Computerized Structural Design

Eric S. Kline, PCS, executive vice president, KTA-Tator
Charles Roeder, P.E. professor, University of Washington
Ray Tide, D.Sc., principal, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates

Michael F. Engestrom, technical marketing director, Nucor-Yamato Steel, Blytheville, Ark.
Dann H. Hall, principal, Bridge Software Development International, Ltd., Coopersburg, Pa.
Michael A. West, P.E., AIA, principal, Computerized Structural Design, Milwaukee, Wis.
Stephen A. Mahin, Ph.D., professor, University of California, Berkeley
Wallace W. Sanders, Jr., Ph.D., professor emeritus, Iowa State University

Tom Ferrell, Ferrell Engineering, Birmingham, Ala.
Louis Geschwindner, Professor Emeritus, Pennsylvania State University
James Malley, Degenkolb Engineers, San Francisco
Alexander Wilson, Chair, Steel Bridge Task Force

Reidar Bjorhovde, P.E., Ph.D., President, The Bjorhovde Group, Tucson, Ariz.
Karl Frank, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, University of Texas, Austin
David I. Ruby, S.E., P.E., Ruby + Associates, Farmington Hills, Mich.
Jon Magnusson, P.E., Chairman & CEO, Magnusson Klemencic Associates, Seattle

Fernando Friás, President, Mexican Institute of Steel Construction (IMCA)
Raymond A. Phillips, Chairman, Cives Steel Company
Charles H. Thornton, Ph.D., P.E., Chairman, Charles H. Thornton and Company LLC
Duane S. Ellifritt, Ph.D., P.E., Professor Emeritus, University of Florida

Gordon Finch, President, Builder’s Steel, North Kansas City (ret.)
Charles G. Salmon, Professor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Irwin Cantor, President, Irwin G. Cantor, P.E., New York City, NY

William Liddy, AISC (ret.), Chicago, IL
Bert Cooper, W&W Steel/AFCO Steel, Oklahoma City, OK
P.V. Banavalkar, Ingenium, Inc., Houston, TX
Frank Hatfield, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
Subhash Goel, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Steven Fenves, Carnegie Mellon, Gaithersburg, MD
Pat Loftus, High Steel Structures, Lancaster, PA
Thomas M. Murray, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA

Bruce R. Ellingwood, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA
Hank Martin, AISI, Washington DC
Enrique Martinez-Romero, IMCA, Mexico City, Mexico
R. Shankar Nair, Teng & Associates, Chicago, IL

Arthur Hedgren, Richardson Gordon & Associates (ret.)—now known as HDR, Pittsburgh, PA
Duane Miller, The Lincoln Electric Company, Cleveland, OH
Stanley T. Rolfe, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS
Eddie Williams, Buckner Companies, Chapel Hill, NC

Bill Dyker, American Bridge (ret.), Knoxville, TN
Walter Gatti, Tensor Engineering Co., Indian Harbor Beach, FL
John A. Martin, John A. Martin & Associates, Los Angeles, CA
Dave Ricker, Javelina Explorations, Payson, AZ
Joseph A. Yura, University of Texas, Austin, TX

W.F. Chen, University of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Robert J. McNamara, McNamara/Salvia, Inc., Boston, MA
William Thornton, Cives Steel Company, Rosewell, GA
Emile Troup, Structural Steel Fabricators, Canton, MA

Fred R. Beckmann, AISC Director of Bridges (ret.), Chicago, IL
Lawrence G. Griffis, Walter P. Moore & Associates, Houston, TX
Lawrence A. Kloiber, LeJeune Steel, Minneapolis, MN
John M. Kulicki, Modjeski & Masters, Inc., Mechanicsburg, PA
Donald R. Sherman, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

Arthur P. Arndt, American Bridge, Bethlehem, PA
John Fisher, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA
Ted W. Winneberger, W&W Steel Company, Oklahoma City, OK

John Barsom, Barsom Consulting Ltd., Pittsburgh, PA (previously with US Steel)
Lynn S. Beedle, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA
Robert O. Disque, Gibble Norden Champion Consulting Engineers, Inc., Old Saybrook, CT (previously Chief Engineer of AISC)
James M. Fisher, Computerized Structural Design, Milwaukee, WI
Srinivasa (Hal) Iyengar, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, Chicago, IL
William A. Milek, Consultant, Glen Ellyn, IL (previously Vice President of Engineering & Research at AISC)

Omer W. Blodgett, The Lincoln Electric Company, Cleveland, OH
Gerald Fox, HNTB (ret.), Kansas City, MO
Robert L. Nickerson, NBE Ltd., Hempstead, MD
Clarkson W. Pinkham, S.B. Barnes & Associates, Los Angeles, CA
Egor Popov, Department of Civil Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, CA